Dutch Davis Cup Captain Siemerink Hammers Squad After Argentina Blanking

Posted on March 8, 2009

Argentina battered the Netherlands 5-0 to advance to the second cup of the World Group this weekend, earning the right to travel to the Czech Republic, which upset France.

Lucas Arnold-Ker, in his first Davis Cup appearance in five years, teamed with Martin Vasallo Arguello to clinch it in the doubles over the low-powered tandem of Jesse Huta Galung and Rogier Wassen for the Dutch.

"It was a very good experience for our team," said Dutch captain Jan Siemerink, missing Dutch power players of the past such as Richard Krajicek. "We return to Netherlands with pride on ourselves for giving our best, but knowing we have much to work on. I believe we have learnt much by playing these great players, which the Dutch players don't play often enough."

Siemerink also didn't hold back from telling his squad there is work to do.

"In part it's their fault, for not playing too much; they should play more," Siemerink said. "I could tell them fairy tales about their performance but it's my role to tell them where they must work in order to improve."

New Argentine captain Tito Vasquez had a smooth debut, winning easily without power players David Nalbandian nor Juan Martin del Potro.

"Right now I don't want to talk about Del Potro, Nalbandian or anything related to what happened before; this is a new start, we want to focus on the positive things, like the effort these guys made to be fit to play this weekend, and, when we have to face the next round, we will see who will make that team," Vasquez said. "Many things can happen, and Argentina has a lot of good players to pick from."

The Czechs will likely put the Gauchos on a faster indoor surface which will favor the attacking games of Radek Stepanek and Tomas Berdych.