Kleybanova Upsets Dementieva in All-Russian WTA Kuala Lumpur Final
by Staff | February 28th, 2010, 12:06 pm
  • No Comments

No. 4-seeded Alisa Kleybanova upset No. 1-seeded Elena Dementieva 6-3, 6-2 in the all-Russian final of the Malaysian Open in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday. It was a career-first WTA title for Kleybanova in her first tour-level final.

“I’ve been working and training hard this past few years and it’s great that I was able to put a great game together today,” said the 20-year-old Kleybanova.

Dementieva drops to a career 16-15 in tour finals, with two titles to her credit already this year at Sydney and the Paris-indoor.

“I want to congratulate Alisa, she played really well today,” Dementieva said. “I know it is difficult to organize a tennis event such as this but I think the organizers have done a great job and I hope that this tournament will continue for many years. I am grateful for the warm welcome here in Malaysia and I thank all the fans for staying and supporting us today and through the week.”

In the doubles final the No. 2-seeded Taipei/Chinese tandem of Chan/Zheng defeated the Rodionova sisters 6-7(4), 6-2, 10-7 for their first title as a pairing.

Also Check Out:
Dementieva on Top at Kuala Lumpur; WTA Previews
Nadal Rolls, Gulbis Falls in Bangkok; Soderling, Berdych Upset in Kuala Lumpur
WTA Moves to Punish Fed Cup Tennis; Kuala Lumpur Preview
Youzhny, G-Lo Win ATP Titles at Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok
Del Potro Calls Wrist “Perfect” in Loss to Rochus; Ferrer v. Tomic in KL

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get Tennis-X news FREE in your inbox every day

Comments are closed.

Top story: Li Na Officially Retires From Tennis
Most Recent story: 18-Year-Old Ash Barty Has Taken An Indefinite Leave From Tennis
  • Recent Comments
ATP - Sep 15 WTA - Sep 15
1 Novak Djokovic1 Serena Williams
2 Rafael Nadal2 Simona Halep
3 Roger Federer3 Petra Kvitova
4 Stan Wawrinka4 Maria Sharapova
5 David Ferrer5 Agnieszka Radwanska
6 Milos Raonic6 Na Li
7 Tomas Berdych7 Eugenie Bouchard
8 Kei Nishikori8 Angelique Kerber
9 Marin Cilic9 Caroline Wozniacki
10 Grigor Dimitrov10 Ana Ivanovic
More: Tennis T-Shirts | Tennis Shop | Live Tennis Scores | Headlines

Copyright © 2003-2014 Tennis-X.com. All rights reserved.
This website is an independently operated source of news and information and is not affiliated with any professional organizations.