MUST SEE VIDEO: Watch John Isner Get Hit By A Lob And Lose The Point!!
by Tom Gainey | April 14th, 2012, 3:36 pm
  • 7 Comments

In one of the most unusual outcomes to a point in recent tennis history, last night during his Houston quarterfinal match against Ryan Sweeting, John Isner actually lost a point when a lob hit him. That’s right, a lob hit him!!

Check the video.

The point took place on matchpoint in the second set tiebreak up 6-3. With Isner at the net Sweeting sends up a lob that’s drifting out of the play. As Isner tracks it he loses his location. By the time he realizes what’s about to happen he can’t get his 6-foot-9 frame out of the way.

Truly amazing.

“I wish I could say (I didn’t see it),” Isner told the Houston Chronicle. “I’ve been playing tennis for a long time, but that’s never happened, not once. I can’t explain it … shockingly bad.”

Isner closed out the win on the next point. He’ll play Feliciano Lopez in the semifinals today in Houston.


You Might Like:
Want To Watch John Isner Dunk A Basketball? Of Course You Do [Video]
John Isner Apologizes For Loss In Houston, Calls Performance “Pathetic”
Watch This Young Kid Hit An Amazing Lob To Win A Point On Roger Federer! [Video]
David Nalbandian: “It’s Ridiculous Playing This Kind Of Tournament With This Kind Of Umpire”
Watch Sorana Cirstea Train For Dancing With The Stars [Video]

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

7 Comments for MUST SEE VIDEO: Watch John Isner Get Hit By A Lob And Lose The Point!!

ron Says:

simply awesome! blooper of the year!


RZ Says:

These sorts of points help me feel better about my own bloopers as a recreational player.


Sean Randall Says:

Now that’s a first. I’ve never seen that happen until now. Unbelievable.


Humble Rafa Says:

Atleast he didn’t choke on a banana or have cramps while meeting the press after a match or burn his fingers on a hot plate at a restaurant.

Not so bad I say.


RZ Says:

Humble Rafa, thank you for being humble enough to keep bringing up the banana choke. That is the biggest blooper of all! (The cramps at the press meeting – not so much.)


Dan Martin Says:

I have never seen that either – crazy.


Chico Says:

Been there done that.. Once upon a time:

My friend had this way cool, John McEnroe, basically all black Dunlop Max 200. We were practising serves and I asked to try it. Felt it in my hand, noticed it was a bit heavier than my own weapon, made of aluminium.

So while the coach was watching behind me, i took a serve. I countered the weight factor and hit a bit early, and I was like what happened when the ball hit my head and the coach dropped to the floor. So unprofessional of him! ;)

Came to get the racquet though, and loved and played it until it was obsolete.

Top story: US Open Women's Preview: Is Serena Too Old To Win? Can Kerber Claim No. 1?