Schuettler Loses Patience at ATP Chennai

Posted on January 4, 2005

No. 3 seed Rainer Schuettler continued his early-year bad luck streak Monday at the Chennai Open in India, losing his opener 6-2, 6-2 to unseeded Frenchman Olivier "All We Need is Just a Little" Patience.

"It was the first time I was playing against him and I knew he was a solid player," said Schuettler, who was in unforced error spray-mode throughout the match. "Today, it wasn't a matter of who my opponent was, because in my opinion I would have lost to anybody in the draw and I am quite disappointed at my performance."

Schuettler was the Cinderella story of 2003, winning two titles in four finals (including an Australian Open runner-up) and qualifying for the year-end Masters Cup, but in 2004 crashed to Earth with six opening-round losses in his first seven events.

No. 7-seeded Frenchman Gregory Carraz (l. to Garcia) was another upset victim Monday, while Taipei's Yen-Hsun Lu (d. (WC) Paes) was the lone seed to advance on the day.

Unseeded winners were Swiss Ivo "I Dated Hingis" Heuberger (d. (WC) P.Amritraj), American Justin "Time" Gimelstob (d. countryman Gambill), Frenchman Paul-Henri Mathieu (d. Tipsarevic), Czech Michal Tabara (d. Vanek 7-6 in the third), Belgium's Kristof Vliegen (d. Ventura in three), and Spaniard Guillermo Garcia-Lopez (d. Van Scheppingen in three).

The final round of qualifying was also completed with four onto the big dance in Marcos "Bombs Over" Baghdatis (CYP), Nicolas Devilder (FRA), Julien Knowle (AUT), and India's own "That's" Harsh Mankad.

On court Tuesday in Chennai are (WC) Rastogi vs. (4) Bjorkman, (1) Moya vs. (Q) Knowle, Christophe "The Roach" Rochus vs. (2) Paradorn "The Thai Fighter" Srichaphan, (8) K.Kim vs. (Q) Mankad, Okun vs. (5) Carlsen, Zib vs. Burgsmuller, and an all-qualifier in Devilder vs. Baghdatis.
ATP - Oct 05 WTA - Oct 05
1 Novak Djokovic1 Serena Williams
2 Roger Federer2 Simona Halep
3 Andy Murray3 Maria Sharapova
4 Stan Wawrinka4 Petra Kvitova
5 Tomas Berdych5 Garbine Muguruza Blanco
6 Kei Nishikori6 Lucie Safarova
7 David Ferrer7 Flavia Pennetta
8 Rafael Nadal8 Agnieszka Radwanska
9 Milos Raonic9 Karolina Pliskova
10 Gilles Simon10 Angelique Kerber
More: Tennis T-Shirts | Tennis Shop | Live Tennis Scores | Headlines

Copyright © 2003-2015 All rights reserved.
This website is an independently operated source of news and information and is not affiliated with any professional organizations.