Tempers Flare As Naomi Broady Upset Her Opponent Didn’t Get Thrown Out For Hitting A Ballboy With Racquet [Video]
by Tom Gainey | January 6th, 2016, 10:24 am

Controversy brewed yesterday in Auckland during Noami Broady’s win over Jelena Ostapenko. The two were embroiled in a tight second set tiebreaker when Ostpenko flung her racquet hitting a ballboy.

By rule, that’s an automatic disqualification as Broady argued. But the chair umpire didn’t see it or saw it as accidental.

“You’ll see on the replay, there’s no way it was accidental. She threw the racquet and it hit the ball boy,” Broady said.

Broady went on to win the match 46, 76(4), 75 and then let the Latvian have a piece of her mind at the end, telling her she should have been defaulted.

In a series of tweets, the British Broady added her thoughts:

“1-Just to put the record straight,it was not me causing an argument after the match.I was told how terrible my behaviour was frm my opponent

“2-Its hard to know when to stick up for yourself and when to keep your mouth shut. I’m human. We live and learn

“3- thanks to everyone in the WTA community and on social media who support me. #ontothenextone”

Several players also came to the defense of Broady, and some accused Ostapenko of previous bad behavior.

Broady beat Ana Ivanovic in her opening match. She’ll face Sloane Stephens in the quarterfinals.

You Might Like:
Ouch! Watch This Australian Open Ballkid Get Hit In The You Know What [Video]
He Didn’t Win The Point, But This Is A Pretty Incredible Shot From Viktor Troicki [Video]
Lukas Rosol Didn’t Beat Rafael Nadal, But He Did Knock Over One Of His Water Bottles! [Video]
Watch Sloane Stephens Risk Life And Limb – She Got Knives Thrown At Her! [Video]
A Crazy Man With A Flare Ran Onto The Court Interrupting The French Open Final [Video]

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

5 Comments for Tempers Flare As Naomi Broady Upset Her Opponent Didn’t Get Thrown Out For Hitting A Ballboy With Racquet [Video]

RZ Says:

Best way to deal with an annoying opponent is to win against them. Apparently Broady was 1-5 down in the 3rd set and still won. Well done!

Gypsy Gal Says:

Well done Naomi,your opponent shouldve been disqualified,im so glad she won,glad she gave the girl a piece of her mind , and a great win over Ivanovic too ;))….

SG1 Says:

The umpire completely dropped the ball here. Good on Broady for maintaining her focus and winning anyway.

SG1 Says:

It’s really an issue of safety. Mindlessly flinging rackets around isn’t safe. I’m interested in the WTA’s position on this incident.

I agree that fans pay money to see matches and they shouldn’t be punished for a player doing a dumb thing. But, if that racket had hit a fan and injured them, I think most everyone would be really outraged.

The WTA has to nip this behavior in the bud right now.

Top story: Home Favorite Djokovic Leads New Belgrade Tournament; Berrettini, Karatsev In Draw