ATP Previews: Thiem Machine in Kitzbuhel; Umag; Gstaad
by Staff | July 18th, 2016, 1:14 am
  • No Comments

Umag, Croatia; Surface: Clay
Pablo Cuevas, Joao Sousa, Jeremy Chardy, Fabio Fognini, Nicolas Almagro, Pablo Carreno Busta, Martin Klizan, Jiri Vesely

Floaters: Guillermo “G-Lo” Garcia-Lopez, Andreas Seppi

Notes: No. 24 Cuevas the top seed…The Top 4 seeds receive opening-round byes…(1) Cuevas could have a difficult start against G-Lo, and (6) Carreno Busta “Rhymes” starts against the veteran Seppi…The all-Croat wildcard line-up went to Nikola Mektic, Nino Serdarusic, and Franky Skugor…The absent Dominic Thiem beat Sousa in last year’s final…Cuevas (2014) is the only former champ in the field.

Kitzbuhel, Austria; Surface: clay

Seeds: Dominic Thiem, Philipp Kohlschreiber, Marcel Granollers, Paolo Lorenzi, Lukas Rosol, Dusan Lajovic, Inigo Cervantes, Jan-Lennard Struff

Floaters: (Q) Daniel Gimeno-Traver

Notes: Thiem the lone Top 10 or Top 20 player in the field…(7) Cervantes in trouble against the seasoned qualifier Gimeno-Travers…Wildcards were awarded to Austrians Jurgen “Tuna” Melzer and Dennis Novak, and Japan’s Akira Santillan…Struff the No. 8 seed is ranked No. 86…The tournament has been held since 1894…Kohlschreiber beat the absent Paul-Henri Mathieu in last year’s final…Kohlschreiber (2015) and Granollers (2013) are the lone former champs in the field.

Gstaad, Switzerland; Surface: clay

Seeds: Feliciano Lopez, Gilles Simon, Albert Ramos-Vinolas, Thomaz Bellucci, Guido Pella, Fernando Verdasco, Mikhail Youzhny, Paul-Henri Mathieu

Floaters: Juan Monaco

Notes: No. 20 F-Lo the lone Top 20 player in the field…The Top 4 seeds receive opening-round byes…(4) Bellucci looking at a tough opener against Monaco…The all-Swiss wildcards were awarded to Antoine Bellier, Henri Laaksonen, Johan Nikles…Dominic Thiem beat David Goffin in last year’s final…Former champs in the field are Mikhail Youzhny (2013), Thomaz Bellucci (2012,’09), and Paul-Henri Mathieu (2007).


You Might Like:
Thiem Takes Final Clay Title Of 2019 In Kitzbuhel
Ruud Wins Third Straight Title, Captures Final Clay Event In 2021 At Kitzbuhel
Ruud Wins 3rd Title Of 2021, Rolls Gaston In Gstaad Final
Thiem Sticks With Dirt In Kitzbuhel, The Last Clay Event Of Season
Nadal, Thiem, Gasparayan, Pereira Win ATP, WTA Titles

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

Comments are closed.

Top story: Nadal Beats Berrettini, Medvedev Outwits Tsitsipas In Australian Open SFs