Davis Cup Wrap: Alcaraz-led Spain, USA, Italy Qualify For Finals
by Staff | September 19th, 2022, 4:36 pm
  • No Comments

Over the weekend, the Davis Cup final 8 was set. US Open champions Carlos Alcaraz went 1-1 in helping Spain reach the finals.

Alcaraz suffered a loss to Felix Auger-Aliassime who led Canada into the quarterfinal knockout round.

Italy, with a powerful duo of Matteo Berrettini and Jannik Sinner, won there group as did Spain, Germany and the Netherlands.

Runner-ups in each of the four groups also progressed. The U.S. went 2-1 record and Croatia and Australian joined Canada.

Novak Djokovic-less Serbia, France and Great Britain all were eliminated. Andy Murray finished 1-2 (0-2 in doubles, 1-0 in singles).

The final 8 round is now set for Malaga, Spain in late November.

Quarterfinals
Tuesday 22 November (1600 CET/1500 GMT) – Australia v Netherlands
Wednesday 23 November (1600 CET/1500 GMT) – Croatia v Spain
Thursday 24 November (1000 CET/0900 GMT) – Italy v USA
Thursday 24 November (1600 CET/1500 GMT) – Germany v Canada

Semifinals
Friday 25 November (1600 CET/1500 GMT) – Australia/Netherlands v Croatia/Spain
Saturday 26 November (1300 CET/1200 GMT) – Italy/USA v Germany/Canada

Davis Cup final
Sunday 27 November (1300 CET/1200 GMT) – Winner Semifinal 1 v Winner Semifinal 2

Player selections for the Davis Cup Finals knockout stage will be announced on Monday 24 October 2022.


You Might Like:
2018 Davis Cup Draw: Spain To Host Great Britain In Opener, Nadal-Murray?
Spain, Stepanek-led Czech Republic Advance to 2009 Davis Cup Final
Davis Cup Returns: Djokovic, Medvedev Lead Field
2012 Davis Cup Draw: US Travels to Switzerland, Spain the Favorites Again?
Federer v Nadal in 1st Rd of 2010 Davis Cup

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

Leave Your Comment [guidelines]

Top story: Djokovic Returns to ATP Play This Week In Tel Aviv; Sinner In Sofia, Ruud In Seoul