Davis Cup Returns: Djokovic, Medvedev Lead Field
by Staff | November 25th, 2021, 9:14 am
  • No Comments

Not held in 2020 due to the COVID pandemic, the Davis Cup returns today in year two of its new format.

The 11-day event features 18 teams divided into six groups of three. The six group winners advance to the knockout quarterfinals along with the next two best second-place teams.

The quarters begins on November 29 with the final on December 5.

Ties will be played in three different cities in Europe: Madrid, Innsbruck and Turin. Madrid will be the exclusive home of the semifinals and finals.

Among the top players participating are the Top 2 in the world Novak Djokovic and Daniil Medvedev along with Andrey Rublev, Jannik Sinner, Marin Cilic, Alex De Minaur, John Isner and for the defending champion Spanish team Pablo Carreno Busta and Carlos Alcaraz.

“It is great to be back with the Davis Cup team,” said Djokovic who is in Innsbruck where Serbia will start play on Friday against the home Austrian team.

“We did not have Davis Cup last year so the last memory we had was a sad one. We were all very emotional because of that ending, but we are also very motivated to come back together and give it another go.

“Rankings don’t play a decisive role on court, especially when you are playing Davis Cup for your country. It is a whole different feeling and you go on court with a different sensation and can play the best tennis of your life.

“Guys who are Nos. 100, 150 or 200 in the world are playing some great tennis and, on any given day, they can be dangerous. I don’t disrespect or underestimate anyone.

“Regardless of an opponent’s ranking, I am preparing for my matches here as much as I am preparing for any other. I have never played Dennis, for instance, but I will do my homework.

Six teams qualified for the 2021 Davis Cup Finals automatically:
• Spain – as 2019 Davis Cup champions
• Canada – as 2019 Davis Cup runners-up
• Great Britain – as 2019 Davis Cup semifinalists
• Russian Tennis Federation (RTF) – as 2019 Davis Cup semifinalists
• France – awarded a wild card
• Serbia – awarded a wild card

The remaining 12 teams advanced to the Finals after victories in the Davis Cup Qualifiers on 6-7 March 2020:
• Croatia – defeated India 3-1 in Zagreb, Croatia
• Hungary – defeated Belgium 3-2 in Debrecen, Hungary
• Colombia – defeated Argentina 3-1 in Bogota, Colombia
• USA – defeated Uzbekistan 4-0 in Honolulu, USA
• Australia – defeated Brazil 3-1 in Adelaide, Australia
• Italy – defeated Korea, Rep. 4-0 in Cagliari, Italy
• Germany – defeated Belarus 4-1 in Dusseldorf, Germany
• Kazakhstan – defeated Netherlands 3-1 in Nur-Sultan, Kazakhstan
• Czech Republic – defeated Slovakia 3-1 in Bratislava, Slovakia
• Austria – defeated Uruguay in Graz, Austria
• Ecuador – defeated Japan 3-0 in Miki, Japan
• Sweden – defeated Chile 3-1 in Stockholm, Sweden

Madrid Arena, Madrid, Spain
Group A
Russian Tennis Federation (RTF)

Group B

Olympiahalle, Innsbruck, Austria
Group C
Great Britain
Czech Republic

Group F

Pala Alpitour, Turin, Italy
Group D

Group E

You Might Like:
Medvedev, Tsitsipas Lead Rotterdam Field
Russia Reaches Davis Cup Final, Will Meet Croatia Sunday
4 Top 10s In Halle With Medvedev, Tsitsipas, Rublev And Auger-Aliassime
Soon-To-Be No. 2 Medvedev Heads Marseille; Tsitsipas, Sinner In Field
Daniil Medvedev Is Soaking In His US Open Win

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

Comments are closed.

Top story: Djokovic Returns to ATP Play This Week In Tel Aviv; Sinner In Sofia, Ruud In Seoul