Berrettini Rounds Out ATP Finals Field; Federer, Djokovic Combined For 11 Titles
by Staff | November 1st, 2019, 9:27 pm
  • No Comments

The ATP Finals field was set after Gael Monfils lost to Denis Shapovalov awarding Matteo Berrettini the final spot.

The US Open semifinalist in joined by other first-timers Stefanos Tsitsipas and Daniil Medvedev.

“I would have never thought I could qualify a couple of months ago,” said Berrettini. “I am just so happy to be among the Top 8 in London. It is a great satisfaction and the reward for the superb work that my team, my family and of course myself have put in place this whole year. Now we prepare for the final show! I will be ready.”

Roger Federer has won the title six times, Djokovic has won the title five times while Nadal seeks his first year-end trophy. Alexander Zverev is the defending champion.

Four different players have won the event the last four years. Djokovic or Federer have been in the final all but one year this decade.

The event begins Sunday, November 10. The groups (Andre Agassi, Bjorn Borg) will be announced on Tuesday.

1 Rafael Nadal(2-time finalist)
2 Novak Djokovic (5-time champ)
3 Roger Federer (6-time champ)
4 Daniil Medvedev (first appearance)
5 Dominic Thiem (4th appearance, never made SF)
6 Stefanos Tsitsipas (first appearance)
7 Alexander Zverev (defending champ)
8 Matteo Berrettini (first appearance)

Possible Alternates
Roberto Bautista Agut
Gael Monfils

You Might Like:
Berrettini The Latest Tokyo Olympic Withdrawal In Men’s Field
Djokovic v Shapovalov, Berrettini v Hurkacz; Wimbledon SFs Picks And Pans
The 2014 Singapore WTA Finals Field Is Set, Serena Seeks 5th Title
Tsitsipas, Berrettini, Shapovalov Top Seeds This Week On ATP Tour
Berrettini Beats Auger-Aliassime For Stuttgart Title

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

Comments are closed.

Top story: ATP Won't Strip Ranking Points From UK Tournaments; Greenlights Future Bans