Medvedev, Rublev Win Indian Wells Openers; Murray-Alcaraz, Zverev-Brooksby Today

by Staff | October 10th, 2021, 11:48 am
  • 1 Comment

Russians Daniil Medvedev and Andrey Rublev coasted to opening round wins at Indian Wells on Saturday.

Medvedev cruised past Mackenzie McDonald 6-4, 6-2. The US Open champion has now won 17 of his last 18 matches.

“I’m actually really pleased, because usually I haven’t played well in Indian Wells and I haven’t been playing that well in practices before,” Medvedev told the crowd. “Really happy with my performance. That’s the most important no matter how I played before the tournament.”

Rublev kept pace late in the evening defeating Carlos Taberner 6-3, 6-4.

I feel the same,” Rublev said of his first Indian Wells in 2019. “Of course, I hope I improved a lot and obviously if I’m 5 in the world, I should improved.

“Hopefully I improved all my skills, all my shots, plus hopefully I’m better physically, mental part and that’s why I hope I’m a better player.”

Rublev will meet Tommy Paul on Monday while Medvedev meets Filip Krajinovic who defeated American Marcos Giron in two sets.

Frances Tiafoe picked up a terrific win hanging on to beat Sebastian Korda 6-0, 6-4. He’ll now face Miami champion Hubert Hurkacz.

Diego Schwartzman saved two match points to escape Maxime Cressy 6-2, 3-6, 7-5. The big-bombing Cressy served for the win at 5-4, 40-15 in the third set.

The Argentine will now meet Dan Evans who also went three sets in a tough win over Kei Nishikori.

Reilly Opelka and Grigor Dimitrov set up a Monday showdown, as did Denis Shapovalov and Aslan Karatsev.

On Sunday, Alexander Zverev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Matteo Berrettini also make their debuts.

Zverev will face the quirky Jenson Brooksby. And former No. 1 Andy Murray returns to meet 18-year-old Spaniard Carlos Alcaraz in the match of the day at about 5pm ET.

STADIUM 1 start 11:00 am
WTA – [25] V. Kudermetova (RUS) vs [2] I. Swiatek (POL)
WTA – [32] S. Cirstea (ROU) vs [4] E. Svitolina (UKR)
ATP – J. Brooksby (USA) vs [3] A. Zverev (GER)
ATP – Not Before 6:00 pm – P. Martinez (ESP) vs [2] S. Tsitsipas (GRE)
WTA – Not Before 8:00 PM – [23] L. Fernandez (CAN) vs [9] A. Pavlyuchenkova (RUS)

STADIUM 2 start 11:00 am
ATP – [5] M. Berrettini (ITA) vs [Q] A. Tabilo (CHI)
ATP – [30] C. Alcaraz (ESP) vs [WC] A. Murray (GBR)
WTA – Not Before 3:00 PM – A. Sasnovich (BLR) vs [11] S. Halep (ROU)
WTA – Not Before 6:00 PM – [7] P. Kvitova (CZE) vs [27] V. Azarenka (BLR)
ATP – [20] J. Isner (USA) vs Y. Nishioka (JPN)

You Might Like:
Djokovic, Nadal, Alcaraz All On Brutal Half Of French Open Draw
Murray Masters Alcaraz At Indian Wells, Sets Zverev Meeting; Medvedev, Rublev Today
Big 3-Less Indian Wells Led By Alcaraz, Medvedev, Defending Champion Fritz
Murray Strong In Indian Wells Opener; Medvedev, Americans Headline Sat.
2023 ATP Finals Groups: Djokovic With Sinner, Alcaraz Gets Big Med Medvedev, Zverev

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

One Comment for Medvedev, Rublev Win Indian Wells Openers; Murray-Alcaraz, Zverev-Brooksby Today

Django Says:

Will Murray win his first-ever IW?

Top story: Tsitsipas Streaks To 10 Straight On Clay, Gets Rematch With Ruud In Barcelona Final