Halep Leads Women, Dzumhur Defends on Men’s Side at ATP/WTA Moscow
by Staff | October 14th, 2018, 6:54 pm
  • No Comments

A Premier Series women’s event and a 250 event on the men’s side, the co-ed Kremlin Cup features world No. 1 Simona Halep’s return from injury.
MOSCOW, Russia; surface: indoor hard

Women’s Seeds: Simona Halep, Karolina Pliskova, Sloane Stephens, Kiki Bertens, Anastasija Sevastova, Daria Kasatkina, Elise Mertens, Anett Kontaveit

Women’s Floaters: Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, Lesia Tsurenko, Johanna Konta, Ekaterina Makarova

Women’s Notes:

Four of the Top 10 lead by world No. 1 Simona Halep marks a strong field, with the Top 4 seeds receiving opening-round byes…

Interesting starts for (1) Halep vs. the Russian Pavlyuchenkova who can hit the Romanian off the court and will have the crowd behind her, (6) Kasatkina vs. the fast-court player Tsurenko, (7) Mertens vs. Konta, and (3) Stephens who has problems getting up for matches in Europe vs. the Russian Makarova…

Pliskova after a bye will start against a qualifier…

Halep and Stephens received wildcards, as did Russians Anna Kalinskaya and Anastasia Potapova…

Withdrawing from the tournament were Dominika Cibulkova, Danielle Collins, Kaia Kanepi, Aryna Sabalenka and Barbora Strycova…

Goerges is the defending champion, in last year’s final rolling over Kasatkina 6-1, 6-2…

Former champions in the field are Goerges (2017), Pavlyuchenkova (2014), and Halep (2013).

Men’s Seeds: Marco Cecchinato, Daniil Medvedev, Karen Khachanov, Filip Krajinovic, Nick Kyrgios, Damir Dzumhur, Jeremy Chardy, Martin Klizan

Men’s Floaters: Andrey Rublev, Benoit Paire, Mischa Zverev

Men’s Notes:

No Top 20 players in the field, and the Top 4 seeds receive opening-round byes…

(5) Kyrgios starts against the Russian Rublev in the must-watch match of the first round…

Kyrgios and Russians Karen Khachanov and Evgeny Karlovskiy received wild cards…

Lukas Rosol qualified, and withdrawing from the field were Pablo Cuevas and Joao Sousa…

Dzumhur beat Ricardas Berankis in the 2017 final…

Former champs in the field are Dzumhur (2017) and Andreas Seppi (2012).


You Might Like:
Carreno Busta Defends Title This Week at ATP Moscow
Dzumhur Denies Berankis for ATP Moscow, 2nd 2017 Title
Dzumhur Wins 1st ATP Title for Bosnia and Herzegovina at St. Petersburg
Murray, Dimitrov, WTA 5 of Top 10 Headline ATP/WTA Brisbane; Preview
Halep Ends On High Note With TOC Title Over Stosur

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

Comments are closed.

Top story: Novak Djokovic, Wife, Test Negative For Coronavirus
Most Recent story: French Open: Fans Will Be Welcome At Event