Tomas Berdych took to twitter this morning to apologize to chair umpire Louise Engzell for his behavior after she correctly awarded a point in the third set to Marin Cilic.
💐💐💐this i my personal apologize to the referee from yesterday.She was right.My emotions were driving my crazy…Sorry for that 💐💐
— Tomáš Berdych (@tomasberdych) September 5, 2014
In replay, Berdych didn’t get to the ball before it bounced twice.
According to the AP, Berdych said, “What are you talking about?”
“Have you ever had a racket in your hand?” he continued. “This is a horrible call. This is absolutely horrible call. There is absolutely no explanation.
“If it bounced twice,” he said, “it is impossible to hit a shot like that.”
Berdych, who was up a break at the time in the third set, went on to lose the set and the match in a tiebreaker.
You Might Like:
Watch Tomas Berdych Try To Get Away With An Underhand Serve Yesterday [Video]
After Double Bagel Loss, Tomas Berdych Cans Coach Dani Vallverdu
Furious Serena Williams Smashes Her Racket After Double Faulting On Matchpoint [Video]
John Isner Apologizes For Loss In Houston, Calls Performance “Pathetic”
Donald Young Apologizes to USTA, McEnroe for Twitter Tirade