Alcaraz, Medvedev, Sinner Lead Stacked Beijing 500 Field

by Staff | September 27th, 2023, 2:55 pm
  • 1 Comment

Pro tennis in China is back! Beijing is back!

For the first time since 2019, the tour has returned to China, and it returns in a big way in Beijing.

The event boasts 15 of the Top 20 player including eight of the Top 10. It’s arguably one of the strongest 500-level 32-draw events ever held.

Carlos Alcaraz and Daniil Medvedev lead the field along with Jannik Sinner plus the two players struggling of late, Holger Rune and Stefanos Tsitsipas.

Top seeds are: 1 Carlos Alcaraz, 2 Daniil Medvedev, 3 Holger Rune, 4 Stefanos Tsitsipas, 5 Andrey Rublev, 6 Jannik Sinner, 7 Casper Ruud and 8 Alexander Zverev.

No. 1 Alcaraz is projected to meet 7 Ruud in the quarters, No. 3 Rune – 6 Sinner, No. 8 Zverev – 4 Tsitsipas, and 5 seed Rublev – 2 Medvedev in the bottom quarter.

The semifinals could see Carlos Alcaraz-Holger Rune and Daniil Medvedev-Stefanos Tsitsipas.

The top seeded Alcaraz opens with Yannick Hanfmann then gets the winner of Karen Khachanov-Lorenzo Musetti.

The second seeded Medvedev opens with the unseeded 13th-ranked Tommy Paul then gets the winner of Alex De Minaur-Andy Murray.

It’s a full 32-draw so no one gets byes in the event.

Murray is the lone champion in the field having won the title in 2016. Both Tsitsipas and Grigor Dimitrov made the finals.

Among the notable first round matches: Carlos Alcaraz-Yannick Hanfmann, Karen Khachanov-Lorenzo Musetti, Jan Lennard Struff-Casper Ruud, Holger Rune-Felix Auger Aliassime, Mackenzie Mcdonald-Grigor Dimitrov, Daniel Evans-Jannik Sinner, Matteo Arnaldi-JJ Wolf, Nicolas Jarry-Stefanos Tsitsipas, Andrey Rublev-Cameron Norrie, Ugo Humbert-Lorenzo Sonego, Alex De Minaur-Andy Murray and Tommy Paul-Daniil Medvedev.

Former champions: Murray
Former finalists: Dimitrov, Tsitsipas

In the last edition in 2019, (1) Dominic Thiem defeated (3) Stefanos Tsitsipas 3-6, 6-4, 6-1.

2019 Dominic Thiem d Stefanos Tsitsipas 3-6, 6-4, 6-1
2018 Nikoloz Basilashvili d Juan Martin del Potro 6-4, 6-4
2017 Rafael Nadal d Nick Kyrgios 6-2, 6-1
2016 Andy Murray d Grigor Dimitrov 6-4, 7-6(2)
2015 Novak Djokovic d Rafael Nadal 6-2, 6-2
2014 Novak Djokovic d Tomas Berdych 6-0, 6-2
2013 Novak Djokovic d Rafael Nadal 6-3, 6-4
2012 Novak Djokovic d Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 7-6(4), 6-2
2011 Tomas Berdych d Marin Cilic 3-6, 6-4, 6-1
2010 Novak Djokovic d David Ferrer 6-2, 6-4

You Might Like:
Sinner Soars Past Alcaraz, Will Battle Medvedev For Beijing Title
Alcaraz Rocks Ruud, Sinner Next In Beijing SF; Medvedev v Zverev
Djokovic, Alcaraz, Medvedev Lead Astana Field
Sinner Gets First Win Over Medvedev, Takes Beijing Title
2023 ATP Finals Groups: Djokovic With Sinner, Alcaraz Gets Big Med Medvedev, Zverev

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

One Comment for Alcaraz, Medvedev, Sinner Lead Stacked Beijing 500 Field

skeezer Says:

Great line up!

Top story: Carlos Alcaraz Rolls Right Ankle In Scary Tumble In Rio [Video]