Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal Meet Again for Hamburg Crown

Posted on May 20, 2007

For the first time in the history of Masters Series Hamburg presented by E.ON Hanse, the ATP World No. 1 and No. 2-ranked duo will contest the final, as No. 1 and three-time champion Roger Federer squares off against No. 2 Rafael Nadal on Sunday. Nadal has a 7-3 career advantage against Federer, including 5-0 on clay. The winner receives 500 ATP Rankings points and € 340,000, while the finalist earns 350 points and € 170,000.

Federer is attempting to capture his third title of the season (Australian Open, Dubai) and first on clay since ATP Masters Series Hamburg in May 2005. He is 12-5 lifetime in Masters Series finals and looking to win his sixth different AMS shield.

The Swiss has an 8-0-career record in finals on German soil (2003-Munich; 2003-06 Halle; 2002, 2004-05 AMS Hamburg). He is also riding a 36-match winning streak in Germany since losing to Mark Philippoussis in the 2003 Hamburg third round.

Five of his 47 career titles have been won on clay courts, but Federer has never won a clay title with Nadal in the field.

Federer is aiming to win a fourth title in Hamburg. He has also won Dubai (2003-05, 2007), Halle (2003-06) and Wimbledon (2003-06) four times in his career.

Nadal is aiming to win his fifth ATP title of the year, after winning three ATP Masters Series shields this year at Indian Wells, Monte-Carlo and Rome in addition to the Barcelona crown.

He has a 21-3 career record in finals, with two losses coming to Federer at 2005 ATP Masters Series Miami and Wimbledon in 2006.

Should the 20-year-old Nadal win the Hamburg title, he will add his name to this impressive list of players to win the four biggest clay-court titles in tennis – joining Jaroslav Drobny, Nicola Pietrangeli, Guillermo Vilas, Ivan Lendl and Gustavo Kuerten as the only players to win the Monte Carlo, Rome, Hamburg and Roland Garros crowns in their careers. No player has ever won all four titles in the same year.

STREAK HITS 81 – Nadal takes his record 81-match winning streak into the final against Federer. The Spaniard’s streak began in Monte-Carlo in April 2005 and he’s won 13 titles at six different tournaments:
2005 (36-0) Final Opponent
========= =============
ATP Masters Series Monte-Carlo (Apr. 11-17) Guillermo Coria
Barcelona (Apr. 18-24) Juan Carlos Ferrero
ATP Masters Series Rome (May 2-8) Guillermo Coria
Roland Garros (May 23-June 5) Mariano Puerta
Bastad (July 4-10) Tomas Berdych
Stuttgart (July 18-24) Gaston Gaudio
Davis Cup vs. Italy (Sept. 23-25)
2006 (26-0)
ATP Masters Series Monte-Carlo (Apr. 17-23) Roger Federer
Barcelona (Apr. 24-30) Tommy Robredo
ATP Masters Series Rome (May 8-14) Roger Federer
Roland Garros (May 28-June 11) Roger Federer
Davis Cup vs. Italy (Sept. 22-24)
2007 (19-0)
ATP Masters Series Monte-Carlo (Apr. 15-22) Roger Federer
Barcelona (Apr. 23-29) Guillermo Canas
ATP Masters Series Rome (May 7-13) Fernando Gonzalez
ATP Masters Series Hamburg (May 14-20)