Rune, Fritz, Ruud, Hurkacz Continue Battle For ATP Finals Berth In Basel

by Staff | October 22nd, 2023, 11:15 pm
  • No Comments

With Andrey Rublev and Stefanos Tsitsipas likely in for the ATP Finals in Turin, the final spot at the moment appears to be among four players: Holger Rune, Taylor Fritz, Casper Ruud and Hubert Hurkacz. All of whom are the Top 4 seeds this week in a strong field in Basel.

Rune, who makes debut with new coach Boris Becker, made the Basel final last year falling to Felix Auger-Aliassime who is back with a wildcard this year.

Top seeds are: 1 Holger Rune, 2 Casper Ruud, 3 Taylor Fritz, 4 Hubert Hurkacz, 5 Alex De Minaur, 6 Felix Auger Aliassime, 7 Nicolas Jarry, 8 Sebastian Korda.

No. 1 Rune is projected to meet 8 Korda in the quarters, No. 3 Fritz – 6 Auger Aliassime, No. 5 De Minaur – 4 Hurkacz, and 7 seed Jarry – 2 Ruud in the bottom quarter.

The semifinals could see Holger RuneTaylor Fritz and Casper RuudHubert Hurkacz.

The top seeded Rune opens with Miomir Kecmanovic then gets the winner of UNK-Sebastian Baez.

The second seeded Ruud opens with Antwerp champion Alexander Bublik then gets the winner of Dominic Stricker-Benjamin Hassan.

Defending champion Felix Auger-Aliassime will face Leandro Riedi in the opening round.

Andy Murray and Stan Wawrinka are also in the field.

Among the notable first round matches: Holger Rune-Miomir Kecmanovic, Andy Murray-Yannick Hanfmann, Tomas Martin Etcheverry-Sebastian Korda, Taylor Fritz-Max Purcell, Botic Van De Zandschulp-Roberto Bautista Agut, LAlex De Minaur-Diego Schwartzman, Jan Lennard Struff-Christopher Eubanks, Dusan Lajovic-Hubert Hurkacz and Alexander Bublik-Casper Ruud,

Former champions: Auger-Aliassime
Former finalists: Rune, De Minaur

Last year, (3) Felix Auger Aliassime defeated Holger Rune 6-3. 7-5.

2022 Felix Auger Aliassime d Holger Rune 6-3, 7-5
2019 Roger Federer d Alex De Minaur 6-2, 6-2
2018 Roger Federer d Marius Copil 7-6(5), 6-4
2017 Roger Federer d Juan Martin del Potro 6-7(5), 6-4, 6-3
2016 Marin Cilic d Kei Nishikori 6-1, 7-6(5)
2015 Roger Federer d Rafael Nadal 6-3, 5-7, 6-3
2014 Roger Federer d David Goffin 6-2, 6-2
2013 Juan Martin del Potro d Roger Federer 7-6(3), 2-6, 6-4
2012 Juan Martin del Potro d Roger Federer 6-4, 6-7(5), 7-6(3)
2011 Roger Federer d Kei Nishikori 6-1, 6-3

You Might Like:
Ruud, Fritz Fall In Final Set Breakers In Basel; Rune, Hurkacz In QFs
Alcaraz, Medvedev, ATP Race Headline 16 Of Top 20 In Basel, Vienna
Rune Upset By Auger-Aliassime, Opens Door For Hurkacz In Basel
Ruud, Fritz Wednesday Winners In Basel, Murray Falls In Three
US Open Stars Alcaraz, Ruud Headline ATP Acapulco

Don't miss any tennis action, stay connected with Tennis-X

Get the FREE TX daily newsletter

Comments are closed.

Top story: Alcaraz Dominates Djokovic For 2nd Wimbledon Title, 4th Grand Slam